There are 26 valid species of Xiphophorus.

They are traditionally divided into four groups. The division is based mostly on morfology and geography, but it is not fully consistent, e.g. some species are not 100% platyfish or swordtails, and some southern platyfish live farther north than northern swordtails.

  • Northern platyfish
  • Southern platyfish
  • Northern swordtails
    • Xiphophorus birchmanni
    • Xiphophorus continens
    • Xiphophorus cortezi
    • Xiphophorus malinche
    • Xiphophorus montezumae
    • Xiphophorus multilineatus
    • Xiphophorus nigrensis
    • Xiphophorus nezahualcoyotl
    • Xiphophorus pygmaeus
  • Southern swordtails
    • Xiphophorus alvarezi
    • Xiphophorus clemenciae
    • Xiphophorus hellerii
    • Xiphophorus kallmani
    • Xiphophorus mayae
    • Xiphophorus mixei
    • Xiphophorus monticolus
    • Xiphophorus signum

Under construction

We are working on the content on this website. Your help will be appreciated, please contact us at info@xipho.org.

If you want to be informed about the progress and plans of the Xiphophorus working group, subscribe to our mailing list or follow us on Facebook: